wdgc logo

2020 12 junior teamWelcome to all clubs and members, with this newsletter being the first for the association, we expect to do this newsletter on a Quarterly basis.

Firstly, it would be remiss of us not to pass on a huge thank you to the previous executive committee Martina Whelan, Enid Smith, Leanne Richie and Darren Frost for their excellent work for our association.

They have done a fantastic job; it is not until you start reading through from position descriptions to strategic plans that one really understands the tremendous work that has been done, Martina, Enid, Leanne and Darren many thanks for your efforts they are greatly appreciated.

Also, a big thank you to our regional officer Chris Crabbe. His help has been invaluable to the previous executive committee and Chris has continued his work with the new committee.

The new Executive Committee is as follows:

  • President: Mr Peter Roughana (Dartmoor)
  • Vice President: Ms Heather Haberfield (Warrnambool)
  • Secretary:
  • Treasurer: Mr Les Johnson (Port Fairy)
  • Mens Captain: Mr Graeme Mustow (Hamilton)
  • Mens Match Committee: Mr Paul Hickman (Dartmoor), Mr Mal Groves (Hamilton), Mr Grant Gibson (Lake Bolac), Mr Glen Dalton (Timboon)
  • Ladies Captain: Mrs Michelle Gristede (Timboon)
  • Ladies Match Committee: Ms Heather Haberfield (Warrnambool), Mrs Donna Della (Timboon), Mrs Vicki Johnstone (Port Fairy), Mrs Sue Rae (Advisory) (Warrnambool)
  • Media/Marketing and Promotions: Mr Aaron McKinnon (Casterton)

In summary we are still looking for a Secretary (Female Gender Equality).
If anyone is interested please do not hesitate to contact one of the Executive members, to assist us in filling this important role.
Mr Les Johnson is assisting with secretarial work for a 3-month period.

Key Dates

We would like to hold two delegates meetings on the following key datesWe would like to hold two delegates meetings on the following key dates:

  • Sunday 7th of Feb – Hamilton 1:30pm – 3:30pm @ Hamilton Golf Club
  • Sunday 14th of Feb – Warrnambool. 1:30 – 3:30pm @ Warrnambool Golf Club

Junior Team

Congratulations to our Junior Team, consisting of the following players

  • George Beasley (Terang)
  • Fred Beasley (Terang)
  • Riley Scanlon (Terang)
  • Eli McLeod (Warrnambool)
  • Joseph Brown (Warrnambool)
  • Lachie Walker (Warrnambool)
  • Olivia Porter (Warrnambool)
  • Molly O’Brien (Hamilton)

They competed at Buninyong, Midlands and Ballarat Golf Clubs on 4th, 5th and 6th of December and they came home with the trophy for the best Nett Team Score.
Well done to our Junior Team

Merry Christmas

We would like to wish all golfers a Merry Christmas and let us hope that 2021 will be a great year for all golfers.
Looking Forward to catching up during 2021.
For and on behalf of the WDGA Executive Committee,
Peter Roughana
President - WDGA